Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The roles that have initially been set for a single user or for a group when created, can be changed any time. Changing the role(s) of a user or group influences the permissions of this user or group for the Team Platform functionality in Enterprise Studio, the Team Server, and HoriZZon. A user whose permissions have been changed will be informed via the Activity Console.

When a user loses all designer permissions (Designer or Lead Designer role), all user's invitations for model packages and projects will be removed. The user can no longer contribute to model packages and projects, nor can changes made by this user be synchronized with the Team Server.Also, any claims caused by changes the user has made to the model packages and projects will be blocked, and need to be removed afterward.

If the user opens a model package or project after the user's role has been deactivated, or tries to make changes to it when already open, a message will appear saying the invitation has been revoked. The user can choose to close the model package or project or save it locally on a different location for personal use. For more information, see Team Platform troubleshooting.


If the user saved data using Enterprise Studio Online (hosted solution), this data will be lost.

Required roles

Administrator or System Administrator: Change roles for all users and groups.

System Administrator: Assign the System Administrator role to other users.


On this page:


Changing the roles of a user

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Users, and then click  in the user whose roles you want to change. The user manage page opens.

    Alternatively, you can click the user, and then in the sidebar menu click Manage to open the user manage page.

    If you want to change your own roles you can also click your profile icon at the top of the page, and then click Manage profile to access your user manage page.

  2. In User, under Roles, select or clear checkboxes next to the roles, depending on what you want to change, and click Apply to save the changes.



  3. If you have removed all designer roles, click Remove in the message window to confirm.

Changing the roles of a group

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Groups, and then click  in the group of which you want to change the roles. The group manage page opens.

    Alternatively, you can click the group, and then in the sidebar menu click Manage to open the group manage page.

  2. In Group, under Roles, select or clear checkboxes next to the roles, depending on what you want to change, and click Apply to save the changes.



  3. If you have removed all designer roles, click Remove in the message window to confirm.