If you want to stop synchronization and authentication of users with an external identity provider (Active Directory, Azure AD, or a SAML 2.0 based identity provider), you can disable the link with this identity provider. After disabling, synchronized users can no longer authenticate via the external identity provider. If you had also configured single sign-on, it will also be disabled.
Directly switching between identity providers is not possible. If you want to do that, first disable synchronization and authentication, and then save the changes. After that you can switch to another identity provider and configure the associated authentication settings.
- In the sidebar menu, click Settings > Authentication.
- On the authentication settings page, in Authentication, select None.
- Click Apply to save the changes.
After you have disabled the link, a message window appears offering you the choice to keep or remove the users from the identity provider.
Click Remove users if you want to remove the users from the Team Server. (They will not be removed from the identity provider!)
Click Keep users to keep the users and convert them to original Team Server users. These users will receive an e-mail for setting their password for the Team Server, because the Team Server does not create a password for these users after the conversion. The users can still be invited to model packages and projects.