Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The General tab of the Enterprise Studio Options window includes various general settings for Enterprise Studio. 

Some of the settings only take effect after restarting Enterprise Studio. This is indicated by the tool.



Option

Description

Application themeSelect the color theme in which Enterprise Studio should be displayed.

Create a new model package during startup

At startup, a new model package is created by default. Clear the check box if the model browser must remain empty after starting the tool. No model package will be created.

Sort documentation fields in alphabetical order

By default, elements have one documentation field. If multiple documentation fields have been defined for an element, their order is determined by Enterprise Studio. Select this check box if the documentation fields must be shown in alphabetical order.

Double-click in model browser to open diagram

By default, opening a diagram or view in the model browser or navigator requires a single click. Select the check box to make it a double-click.

Default show search results in

Search results are shown in a message box ("Message box"), a view ("Views"), or a workset ("Workset"), or can each time be determined by the user ("Always ask").

Application language

This is the language the application uses for its interface, like the ribbon, menus, and windows. Enterprise Studio uses the language of the Windows version installed on the computer as application language, provided that it is supported by Enterprise Studio.

Model language

This is the language of for example the types of objects, like "Applicatiecomponent" or "Application Component".
You can choose between the language set within Windows ("Regional settings"), the language of the Windows version that has been installed on your computer, or one of the licensed languages.

Default working folder

Location of the default working folder.

When opening a model package via File > Open > Computer, Enterprise Studio opens the location the user last used in a random Window application to access files by default.

Specify a location if the tool should always first look at a specific location for opening a model package, for example, a location where the model packages are stored.

Some messages can be set not to appear again in the future. By clicking 'Reset' all these messages will be shown again

Restore any deactivated message windows to the default situation, so that they will be shown again. This applies to dialogs in the application with an option that will make the dialog not appear next time, for example the following:

AutoSave Settings

The AutoSave settings cannot be changed when working with Enterprise Studio Online (hosted solution).


Interval
The time interval between autosave operations together with the folder where to save these so-called autosave files. When working with large models it can be useful to increase the time interval.

Do not save shared package
By default, model packages that are stored on the Team Server or in your personal storage are saved periodically via the automatic save function. See also Saving a model package.

Select this check box if you want to turn off the automatic saving of shared model packages. If you close a shared model package with unsaved changes, a dialog will appear asking you if you want to save these changes or not. This will also happen if you want to undo the checkout of unchanged objects.

Location (file-based packages)
This is the location for the autosave files of model packages that are stored locally as XMA or XMAM. Change it if you prefer to use a different location for the autosave files.

Documentation Window Font Settings

Which font type to use by default for documentation fields.

ArchiMate

Generate preferred relation upon creation of nested objects
If objects are created or drawn in a nested way in the model browser or in a view, a relationship of the preferred relation type is automatically created between these objects. The preferred type is the type that is set as the preferred relationship. The preferred relation can be changed in the Concepts and Relations table.

If the check box is cleared, the strongest structural relationship according to the ArchiMate® standard is used.

Support for ArchiMate derived relation types
By default, Enterprise Studio does not make a distinction between direct and derived (indirect) relations in ArchiMate models. In the quick-create pop-up window for drawing objects and relations, all relations are presented in the same way.

If the distinction between direct and derived relations must be visible, select this check box. Direct relations will then be marked with a continuous border, derived relations have a dotted line for a border (in the context menu that is available in older tool versions, there is an asterisk behind the derived relations).

     

Derived relations OFF (left) and ON (right)

Amber

Check loops and mark objects as repeated
When drawing loops in a process, the (inter)actions in the loop are automatically marked as repetitive. Clear the check box to deactivate the automatic checking and marking of loops.

Generate splits and joins
When needed, Enterprise Studio automatically generates connecting elements while drawing multiple relations from or to an action, or when drawing relations between sub-processes. Clear the check box to deactivate the automatic generation of splits and joins.

Update scripts after changing names
When names of elements in the model are changed, any references to these elements in scripts will automatically be updated to. Clear the option if you do not want scripts to be automatically updated.


ArchiMate® is a registered trademark of The Open Group.