Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

To be able to further delegate administrative tasks in the Team Server, you can grant users group manage permissions. The permissions can be granted to members of a group. A user with group manage permissions for a group can perform the following actions:

  • Add members to the group and remove them from the group.
  • Change the name and description of the group.
  • Grant group manage permissions to other members of the group and remove these permissions.

Adding and removing members and changing the group name and description can only be done for internal Team Server groups. These are groups that have been created in the Team Server. You cannot do this for groups that have been added to the Team Server through provisioning via an external identity provider (Azure AD, SAML, etc.).

There can be multiple users with group manage permissions in one group. 

A user can be granted group manage permissions via the group page and the group members page.


Required roles

Administrator, System Administrator, or any user with manage permissions for the respective group.


On this page:


Granting group manage permissions via the group page

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Groups, and then click the group for which you want to grant users manage permissions.

  2. On the group page, in Members, click  next to the users you want to grant manage permissions. Once permissions have been granted, the control looks as follows: .

Granting group manage permissions via the group members page

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Groups, and then click the group for which you want to grant users manage permissions.

  2. In the sidebar menu, click Members, and then click  next to the users you want to grant manage permissions. Once permissions have been granted, the control looks as follows: .

Removing group manage permissions

To remove a user's group manage permissions, click  next to the user's name.

A user will automatically lose his or her manage permissions for a group once this user is no longer a member of that group.