Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In the Team Server, you can share a project with other people and control their access to it by inviting them. You can invite any person you like, but you may be limited to only invite existing users and user groups with the (Lead) Designer role.


Required roles

Designer or Lead Designer: Share projects you are contributing to yourself and give edit permissions for models and folders in this project that you can edit yourself.

Administrator or System Administrator: Share any project and assign edit permissions for any models and folders in it.

Steps:

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Packages, and then click the model package the project belongs to.

  2. On the model package page, in the sidebar menu, click Projects, and then click the project you would like to invite people for.

  3. On the project page, in Invited users, click the plus.



    Alternatively, you can click Manage in the sidebar menu, and then in the Manage project menu select Invite.

  4. On the Manage project page, in Invite, select the items in the project for which you want to give edit permissions by selecting the boxes next to the items. By default, the complete project is selected for sharing. If you only want to share part of the project, first clear the box next to the project, and then select the items in the project for which you want to give edit permissions by clicking the boxes next to these items.

     Permission options

    Directly assigned edit permissions.

    Indirectly assigned edit permissions, derived from higher-level directly assigned edit permissions.

    Indirectly assigned because of underlying, directly assigned edit permissions.

    No edit permissions assigned (read-only access for the invited person).

    Not available for assigning because of missing own edit permissions.

  5. Under Enter users, enter the e-mail address(es) of the person(s) you would like to invite. If you invite an existing user or a user group, you can also type their name. The Team Server will show the available users and user groups. If you add multiple addresses or names, additional fields will be added automatically.



  6. Click Invite to send the invitation.

Invitation notification

Invited people that are not yet registered in the Team Server, will receive an e-mail message with an invitation to register. After registration, they can start contributing to the project.

Invited people that are already registered in the Team Server where the project is located, do not receive an e-mail message. Instead, they are informed about the invitation via their Activity Console. They can directly start contributing to the project after opening it.



If a user group is invited, and a user from this group has already been invited individually, then the user will not be informed via the Activity Console. This user already has access to the project.