Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The members of a group in the Team Server may vary over time. Users may be added or removed from a group. You can manage group members if you have the Administrator or System administrator role in the Team Server. Managing members of a group that has the System administrator role is only possible if you have the System administrator role.


On this page:


Adding members to a group

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Groups, and then click  on the group you want to add members to.

    Alternatively, you can click the group (anywhere but ), and in the sidebar menu click Manage, or click the group, and then in Members click the plus.

  2. In the Manage group menu, select Group members, and in the group members list, select the check boxes next to the users you want to add to the group and click Apply.

    To add all users at once, click Include all and click Apply. If a filter is active, only the users who match the filter will be affected.

Membership notification

When a user has been added to a group and the group has no invitations to model packages and/or projects yet, the user will not be informed.

If the group already has invitations, the user is automatically invited to the model packages and projects the group is contributing to. The model packages and projects will be available to contribute to after synchronizing the Activity Console. The user is informed about the invitation(s) via the Activity Console unless the user is already contributing to these packages and/or projects otherwise (through individual invitations or through another group).

If not yet registered with the Team Server, the user will receive an e-mail with an invitation, and must then first register with the Team Server. After that, the user can start contributing to the model package or project.

Removing members from a group

In the Team Server, you can remove members from a group if you have the Administrator or System administrator role. Removing members from a group that has the System administrator is only possible if you have the System administrator role.

Members can be removed from a group via the user page, via the group page, or via the manage group page. The first two are useful for removing a single member, the latter for removing multiple members at once.

Removing a member via the user page

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Users, and then click the user you want to remove from the group.

  2. On the user page, in Groups, click the cross next to the group.


  3. In the message window, click Remove to confirm.

Removing a member via the group page

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Groups, and then click the group you want to remove members from.

  2. On the group page, in Members, click the cross next to the users you want to remove from the group.


  3. In the message window, click Remove to confirm.

Removing a member via the manage group page

  1. In the sidebar menu, click Groups, and then click in the group you want to remove members from.

    Alternatively, you can click the group (anywhere but ), and in the sidebar menu click Manage.

  2. In the Manage group menu, select Group members, and in the member list, clear the check boxes next to the users you want to remove from the group and click Apply.

    To remove all users at once, click Remove all, and click Apply. If a filter is active, only the users who match the filter will be affected.


  3. In the message window, click Remove to confirm.

Removal notification

When a user has been removed from a group and the group has no invitations to model packages and/or projects, the user will not be informed.

If the group has invitations, the user's invitations will be revoked. The user is informed about this via the Activity Console.

Unless the user is still otherwise invited for these model packages or projects, contributing to the model packages and projects of the group is no longer possible, nor can changes made by this user be synchronized with the Team Server. Also, any claims caused by changes the user has made to the model packages and projects will be blocked, and need to be removed afterward.

If the user opens a model package or project for which the invitation has been revoked, or tries to make changes to it when already open, a message will appear saying the invitation has been revoked. The user can choose to close the model package or project, or save it locally on a different location for personal use. For more information, see Team Platform troubleshooting.

If the user saved data using Enterprise Studio Online (hosted solution), this data will be lost.