Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


The Activity Console is part of the Team Platform functionality. The Activity Console keeps track of the different types of actions performed in this context and informs you about them.

The Activity Console icon in the system tray of your computer may change to indicate a certain status or to share something. The overview below shows the possible statuses with messages and their meaning.


Symbol

Meaning

Activity Console is running

This is the default status of the Activity Console. When the console is active and there are no details, it looks like this.

There are unseen activities

If there are activities in the Activity Console that you have not yet read, the console indicates it with a text balloon.

Once you open the Activity Console to view the activities the default icon view will return.

Busy synchronizing

When working together on a model package, the changes committed by you to your local copy of the model package are automatically shared with the other participating users by means of synchronization. During synchronization your changes are transferred to the shared model package on the Team Server, and from there your contribution is made available on the computers of the other users working on the model package.

Basically, synchronization takes place when you commit your changes. At that point, your computer needs to be connected to the Team Server where the model package is located, otherwise there will be no synchronization.

Automatic synchronization takes place every five minutes. During this the contributions of all participating users are retrieved and exchanged. If you want to synchronize in between, you can do it manually. To do this, right-click the Activity Console icon and click Sync all, or move your mouse pointer over Recent activities at the top of the opened Activity Console and click when it changes to Synchronize all.

Disturbance in the synchronization

It may occur that your contributions cannot be synchronized because there is (temporarily) no connection to the Team Server where the model package is located. These contributions are visible in the Activity Console, but they are not yet synchronized. The Activity Console displays the disturbance with an exclamation mark. The contribution in the console is also marked to indicate it is not yet synchronized.

Once the connection has been restored, the icon of the Activity Console returns to its default view and the automatic synchronization is resumed.


The Activity Console icon may also show combinations of statuses:

Symbol

Meaning

Unseen activities and disturbance in synchronization

If there are activities in the Activity Console that you have not yet read, and if there is a disturbance in the synchronization, the console indicates it like this.

Unseen activities and busy synchronizing

If there are activities in the Activity Console that you have not yet read, and if the Activity Console is busy synchronizing, the console indicates it like this.


The activities in the Activity Console console window also have an icon to inform your about the status of the activity:

Symbol

Meaning

Activity has not yet been synchronized

When you have committed the changes to your local copy of the model package, they are usually automatically synchronized to make them available to the other users.

If there is no connection to the Team Server where the model package is located, your changes are not synchronized. In the Activity Console, this is indicated by an outgoing arrow next to the activity.

Changes have not yet been processed

If changes from other users are available that you have not yet processed in your model package, it is indicated by an incoming arrow in the Activity Console.

Information

The info icon in the Activity Console window is used for neutral activities.

Checked

The icon with the green check mark is used for warning activities that have been resolved.

For instance when the Activity Console recovers from not being able to authenticate for a storage place, it changes the icon of the "Can't authenticate" activity from warning to checked.

Warning

The warning icon in the Activity Console window indicates that something is wrong.