Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Saving a model package locally

  1. On the File tab, click Save As, and click Computer.

  2. Click Browse and navigate to the location where you want to save the model package.

  3. Enter a name for the model package and select the desired file format:

    XMA to save it as a regular model package. This is the default format. 

    XMAM
    to save the model package including its metamodel(s).

  4. Click Save.


A changed model package can easily be saved again via File > Save or Ctrl+S.

Saving a model package for tracking progress or sharing with others

Saving a model package for tracking progress or sharing with others is part of the Team Platform functionality. If you want to save a model package for tracking progress or sharing, please refer to the following pages:

Tracking progress: Saving a model package in your personal storage

Sharing: Saving a model package on the Team Server

Autosave for model packages

After you have saved a model package for the first time, Enterprise Studio will periodically autosave a version of the model package to a so-called autosave file. The version is saved with its own model package name, but has the file extension .AUTOSAVE. The autosave file will automatically be removed when Enterprise Studio is closed.

Each time an autosave action is performed on an XMA or XMAM file, the entire model package will be saved again. The autosave for a model package stored on the Team Server or in your personal storage however only saves new changes that have been made since the last save action.

If a model package gets bigger, incremental saves will much less impact your system than saving the complete model package each time, especially when working with the cloud solution. So if you want to use a model package just for yourself or keep it isolated from others, it is best to store it in your personal storage and not use an XMA or XMAM.

By default, the time interval for the autosave file is set to 5 minutes.

When working with a locally installed Enterprise Studio, the autosave file is stored in the temporary Windows folder, usually C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp. When working with Enterprise Studio Online, the autosave file is stored in the user-storage directory (U:\).

If you want to change the autosave settings, you can adjust them at the Enterprise Studio general options, accessible via File > Options.

In case Enterprise Studio crashes, the latest modifications can be recovered from the autosave file. You can easily open an autosave file by changing its file extension into .xma or .xmam.