Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This topic is meant for application administrators who are familiar with installing and configuring software and databases.

Always create a backup of your old model packages and custom metamodel configuration (if applicable) before updating to a new version of Enterprise Studio or Enterprise Studio Online (hosted solution).

Depending on your situation, perform the following actions to update to a new Enterprise Studio release. Determine which of the situations below applies to you, and follow the associated procedure(s). 

Enterprise Studio and Team Server are both running on premise

  1. Download the new software: Enterprise Studio and Team Server

  2. Update the Team Server

  3. Update Enterprise Studio

  4. Upgrade to the new tool configuration

Enterprise Studio is running on premise, Team Server is running online

  1. Download the new software: only Enterprise Studio

  2. Update Enterprise Studio

  3. Upgrade to the new tool configuration

Enterprise Studio and Team Server are both running online

  1. Upgrade to the new tool configuration


Downloading the new software

The latest installer file(s) can be downloaded from the BiZZdesign Support site.

Updating the Team Server

Always update the Team Server BEFORE updating Enterprise Studio.

  1. Uninstall the old Team Server:

    1. Stop the old Team Server service by running the stopService.bat file located in the bat folder of the Team Server installation. This is mandatory. It ensures that the Team Server will have flushed all of its data into persistent storage, and ensures this consistent data set is used by the Team Server.

    2. Uninstall the old Team Server service by running the uninstallService.bat file located in the bat folder of the Team Server installation.

  2. Install the new Team Server:

    1. Rename the current TeamServerHome folder to TeamServerHome-old.

    2. Unzip the new Team Server installer file to the location where the Team Server must be installed.

    3. Copy the teamserver.config.json file from the old Team Server location to the new Team Server location. The structure of your Team Server installation should look similar to this:



    4. If you have previously made changes to the wrapper.conf file, add these changes to the newly added file (located in the TeamServerHome\conf folder). Examples of changes may be the HTTP port, the java.exe location, and JVM memory.

    5. If you have previously made changes to the application.conf file, add these changes to the newly added file (located in the TeamServerHome\conf folder). Changes made to this file can come from using an official HTTPS certificate for the Team Server and/or local installation of HoriZZon.

    6. Add the new Team Server service to the services by running the installService.bat file located in the bat folder of the Team Server installation.

      If you previously have added the Team Server using an AD service account, use that account again.

    7. Start the new Team Server service by running the startService.bat file located in the bat folder of the Team Server installation. All data and users should be available again.

Updating Enterprise Studio

If you also use an on-premise Team Server, always update the Team Server BEFORE updating Enterprise Studio.

Close Enterprise Studio and the Activity Console before installing the new version of Enterprise Studio.

Install the new version of Enterprise Studio on the client computers. Please take note that the installer will completely remove the previous Enterprise Studio installation. Only in case of updating to a new major release (e.g., from ES 4 tot ES 5) you can select a different installation location, if desired. That can be done via Options on the first page of the installation wizard.



Upgrading to the new tool configuration

Upgrade to the new tool configuration and migrate your Team Server model packages. Any customizations in your current tool configuration will automatically be transferred to the new configuration during the migration, provided that these customizations have been made using the Metamodeler. The migration is performed using the Metamodeler.

If your custom configuration includes any changes made outside the Metamodeler, do not perform the procedure below. Instead follow the procedure for manually upgrading the tool configuration and migrating model packages.

Upgrading to the tool configuration can only be performed by users with the Lead Designer role.

Enterprise Studio is not backward compatible. Once you have opened and saved a model in a newer version of the tool, the model should not be opened in an older version of the tool.

Steps:

  1. In Enterprise Studio, open a Team Server model package that needs to be migrated, and go to File > Manage Package > Manage Configuration.

    If the model package still has uncommitted changes, commit these pending changes first, or undo the changes (via Timeline > Undo Changes) before upgrading.



  2. Click Upgrade configurationA message appears informing you about the consequences of upgrading. If you want to start the upgrade, click Yes.



  3. If upgrading is successful, the following message appears. Click OKYou are automatically redirected to the Commit page.



    If upgrading is successful, but messages appear in the Messages window, you are not directly redirected to the Commit page. Please check these messages before deciding to commit the configuration changes in the model package. 

    If upgrading is not successful, the procedure is aborted.

  4.  On the Commit page, click Commit to commit the configuration changes (indicated by the icon).

    Enter a version number of the configuration you have migrated to in the Remarks box. That way you will be able to see which configuration version you are working with in the model package's timeline.



Migration of the model package is now complete. The configuration changes will become available to other users participating on the model package. They need to update their copy of the model package to include the configuration changes.

If the migrated model package has projects based on it, these projects need to be updated with contributions from the master model package to include the configuration changes.

Users contributing to these projects can include the configuration changes in their copies of the project by updating their project with contributions from other users.