Team Server is now called HoriZZon Server. While the new name is being implemented in the software and on BiZZdesign Support, the old name may still be visible in places until the process has been completed. For more information, please refer to Team Server is now HoriZZon Server .
Document definitions and documents are now called data block definitions and data blocks. While the new name is being implemented in the software and on BiZZdesign Support, the old name may still be visible in places until the process has been completed.
Different roles can be distinguished for users collaborating on model packages and projects in Enterprise Studio, working with HoriZZon, and working on the HoriZZon Server administration (users, groups, and packages) in HoriZZon. A role determines the user's permissions, and also which information in HoriZZon is visible to the user. Roles can be linked to individual users and to groups of users. A user or group can be assigned a single role, but also multiple roles.
On this page:
Types of roles
The following roles can be distinguished: Consumer, Contributor, Designer, Lead Designer, Administrator, and System Administrator. There is a dependency between the Designer and Lead Designer role, and between the Administrator and System Administrator role. A user who has the Lead Designer role, automatically also has the Designer role. A user who has the System Administrator role automatically also has the Administrator role. The Contributor role stands in its own. The Consumer role is the minimum required role for access to HoriZZon. A user who has the Contributor, Designer or Lead Designer role, automatically has the Consumer role.
Globally the roles offer the permissions as shown below. If a user is not assigned any of these roles, the user only has access to his or her personal details page.
The System Administrator role is not available in a hosted HoriZZon Server. This means that the HoriZZon Server administration settings are not available in a hosted HoriZZon Server, except the license information page. It is accessible for Administrator users.
A Contributor has the permissions of a Consumer, plus the following.
A Designer has the permissions of a Consumer, plus the following.
A Lead Designer has the permissions of a Designer, plus the following.
A System Administrator has the permissions of an Administrator, plus the following:
The roles of a user or group are shown in the Info section on the overview page of the user or group. An icon next to a role indicates whether the role is assignedor not . The role assignment of an individual user also indicates whether the role has been assigned directly to the user or via one or more groups, or both.
Roles can be assigned via the User or Group section on the manage page of the user or group, by selecting the checkboxes next to the roles. Roles can only be assigned by Administrator or System Administrator users.
The System Administrator role can only be assigned by a user with the System Administrator role, it is not available for an Administrator user.
Individual permissions versus group permissions
Role(s) assigned directly to a user give the user individual permissions. If groups have been defined, role(s) assigned to a group give all users in that group these permissions. The participation of a user in a group may result in different combinations of permissions for the user. Not only the user's individual permissions are shown, but also the permissions inherited from the group(s) the user is part of.
If you click the "via groups" link next to a role, the groups are shown. Clicking a group will open the group page.
User roles and inviting people for model packages and projects
Only users with the Lead Designer or Designer role can contribute to model packages and projects they have been invited to in Enterprise Studio. If there is no limitation set on inviting people, any person can be invited. If the invitee is an existing user or group without a designer role, this user or group will automatically be assigned the Designer role. If the invited person is new and does not yet exist in the HoriZZon Server administration, this person will also automatically be assigned the Designer role once he or she has registered with the HoriZZon Server.
If inviting users is limited to only existing users and groups, it is not possible to invite users who do not have the Lead Designer or Designer role. They must already have this role to be invited.
User roles and license seats
The different user roles are related to the seats from your Enterprise Studio license. Different roles take different license seats. The number and type of seats in your license determine which roles can be assigned to users and to how many users. For more information, please refer to About BiZZdesign license seats and their availability.
Group manage permissions
In addition to assigning roles, users can be granted group manage permissions to further delegate administrative tasks in the HoriZZon Server. The permissions can be granted to one or more members of a group. For more information, please refer to Granting users group manage permissions.